John wins Victor Macedo 75-mile cycle road race

first_imgTEAM Coco’s Jamal John rode a well-calculated race to win the 15th edition of the Victor Macedo Memorial cycle road race yesterday, in a time of three hours, five minutes 11 seconds. The winning time was six minutes faster than last year’s, which was three hours 11 minutes six seconds.After rolling off from Macedo’s residence on Peter Rose Street, Queenstown, Georgetown, and getting the green flag on Homestretch Avenue, John along with Jaikarran Sukhai, Paul Cho-Wee-Nam, Alonzo Ambrose, Michael Anthony, Akeem Wilkinson and Raul Leal broke from the pack and led all the way to Long Creek, Linden/Soesdyke Highway, via the East Bank Demerara carriageway and were never caught again until after turning for home from Long Creek, Linden/Soesdyke Highway.They were eventually caught by Team Evolution’s Orville Hinds near the Umbrella Resort on the Linden Highway.Together, the leading bunch worked in tandem until they reached the final turn at the National Cultural Centre into Homestretch Avenue when Cho-Wee-Nam staged an attack with approximately 500 metres remaining to the finish line, but John was quick to respond followed by Ambrose with the other five cyclists struggling to keep up with the pace.In the end, the inform John won ahead of Ambrose, Hinds, Cho-Wee-Nam, Wilkinson, Leal, Anthony and De Nobrega respectively.Anthony won three of the 10 prime prizes that were up for grabs, while John and Leal won two each. Ambrose, Cho-Wee-Nam and Hinds won one each.In the Junior category, Christopher Cornelius returned three hours 16 minutes 17 seconds in winning his category ahead of Nigel Dugid and Adealie Hodge, respectively.Eon `Dumb Boy’ Jackson won the Veterans’ over 40 years of age category ahead of Amrit sankar, while in the Veterans’ under 45 years category, Jaikarran Sukhai was first. Second place went to Junior Niles, while Warren McKay placed third.Ozia McAullay won the Mountain Bike category ahead of Julio Melville and Jude Bentley in that order.The event was sponsored by Macedo Transportation Services and was organised by the Flying Stars Cycle Club.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *