Croatia superstar Luka Modric wins FIFA Best Men’s Player of the Year award

first_imgReal Madrid and Croatian midfielder Luka Modric ended a decade-long dominance of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi on the FIFA Best Men’s Player Award as he pipped Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah to take the trophy at an award ceremony in London on Monday.Modric had a brilliant summer where he helped Real Madrid win a record third consecutive Champions League title and then went on to guide Croatia to their first ever World Cup final.Croatia came up short in the final losing 4-2 to young French team but Modric was award the Best Player of the tournament award.”It’s a great honour and beautiful feeling to stand here with this trophy.Congratulations, Luka ModricWinner of #TheBest FIFA Men’s Player 2018 #FIFAFootballAwards (@FIFAcom) September 24, 2018″I would like to give congratulations to Mohamed and Cristiano for the great season that they had. I am sure in the future you will have another opportunity to fight for this.”This trophy is not just mine. It is for my Real Madrid team-mates, the Croatia national team and all my coaches. This is also for my family, without who I would not be the player I am,” Modric said after receiving the award.On the other hand, Brazilian captain Marta won the award for FIFA Best Women’s Player of the Year after she captained Brazil to a Copa America win this season.Marta pipped Lyon dyo of Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan to win the award. Everyone from Ronaldo and Ronaldinho to Roberto Carlos on the stage were beaming as she received the award.advertisementHere are the rest of the award winners on the night:Best Goal of the Year: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)Best Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps (France)Best Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois (Belgium, Chelsea)Best Women’s Coach: Reynald Pedros (Lyon)Best Fan Award: Peru fans, who travelled to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in RussiaFIFA Fair Play Award: Lennart Thy (VVV-Vento)World XI team: David de Gea (Manchester United, Spain); Dani Alves (PSG, Brazil), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid, France), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil); Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia), N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France); Eden Hazard (Chelsea, Belgium), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina), Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France); Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/Juventus, Portugal).last_img read more